ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

في الوقت الحالي ، يمر التزلج الفردي للرجال في روسيا بأزمة. هو أن فوز ديمتري علييف الأخير في بطولة أوروبا في غراتس بالنمسا يعطي الأمل للجماهير. بخلاف ذلك ، كان كل الاهتمام ينصب منذ فترة طويلة على الفتيات: صراع جاد ، وإن كان ودودًا ، على منصة التتويج في مجموعة Eteri Tutberidze يثير الاهتمام بالإيجارات.

في نهاية القرن العشرين وبداية العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين ، تحول كل شيء في الاتجاه المعاكس. لم تكن النساء محظوظات في المنافسات الكبرى ، ولكن تلميذتين من أليكسي ميشين - أليكسي ياغودين و إيفجيني بلوشينكو - كانا على استعداد لتخطي رؤوس بعضهما البعض للحصول على الميدالية الذهبية في البداية التالية. وقد فعلوا ذلك بدورهم ، وبالطبع بكره متبادل. نحكي قصة المواجهة بين اثنين من المتزلجين المسجلين في الماضي ، كان مصيرهما متشابكًا بشكل رمزي في الطفولة وكان بينهما الكثير من القواسم المشتركة حتى نهاية حياتهم المهنية.

لقاء في يوبيليني: كيف أصبح المتزلجون تحت قيادة أليكسي ميشين؟

بدأ ياغودين التزلج في سن الرابعة في موطنه الأصلي لينينغراد ، أخذته والدته إلى العمل. كان معلم ليتل ليوشا ألكسندر مايوروف - طالب أليكسي ميشين. تزلج الشاب المتزلج تحت إشراف المدرب الأول لمدة ثماني سنوات. عندما بلغ اللاعب المبتدئ 12 عامًا ، تمت دعوة مايوروف للعمل في السويد. لم يسمح له والدا Yagudin بالسفر إلى الخارج بعد المرشد ، وبناءً على توصية المدرب ، قاما بنقل الصبي إلى مجموعة Mishin في Yubileiny Sports Palace.

انتهى المطاف بلوشينكو هناك بعد ذلك بعامين. قبل ذلك ، تدرب في فولغوغراد تحت إشراف تاتيانا سكالا وميخائيل ماكوفيف. من المثير للاهتمام أن يوجين جاء أيضًا إلى التزلج على الجليد في سن الرابعة وبإصرار من والدته. في سن الحادية عشرة ، أُجبر على الانتقال إلى سانت بطرسبرغ وحده لمواصلة الدراسة ، حيث تم إغلاق مدرسة فولجوجراد الرياضية.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

أليكسي ميشين وإيفجيني Plushenko

الصورة: من الأرشيف الشخصي لـ Evgeni Plushenko

ثم لم يخطر ببال أحد أن اثنين من الصبية المؤلمين سيصبحان المنافسين الرئيسيين في الرجال تزلج. حتى الآن ، قاموا بأداء عناصر سلمية على الجليد ، وكانوا يتنمرون على بعضهم البعض في غرفة خلع الملابس ، وركز انتباه ميشين على الأجنحة الأكبر سناً - البطل الأولمبي أليكسي أورمانوف ، ورسلان نوفوسيلتسيف وأوليج تاتوروف.

المواجهة الصبيانية: تم حبس ياغودين في الخزانة ، وتم نقل Plushenko إلى المنزل

كانت Zhenya البالغة من العمر 11 عامًا وليوشا البالغة من العمر 13 عامًا الأصغر في مجموعة Mishin. قبل انتقال Plushenko إلى Yubileiny ، كان Yagudin هو الهدف الرئيسي للتنمر. قال لاحقًا إن القضية لم تنتهِ بالكلمات: كان بإمكان الرجال الأكبر سنًا ضرب الصغار بأغطية الشفرات. وبمجرد أن حبس زملائه أليكسي في خزانة ضيقة في غرفة الملابس وأبقوه هناك لمدة ساعة تقريبًا.

لسوء الحظ ، لم يفلت إيفجيني من الإهانات أيضًا. في أغلب الأحيان كان يوبخ عليهحقيقة أنه زائر. اذهب إلى فولغوغراد! - عبارة سمعها Plushenko باستمرار ، وغالبًا من Yagudin. على ما يبدو ، تراكم الغضب في ألكسي ، والآن قرر أيضًا تعويض الناشئين.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

أكبر فضيحة في التزلج على الجليد. قصة توني هاردينغ

كيف دفنت إحدى المتزلجين الواعدين في الولايات المتحدة مسيرتها المهنية في يوم واحد.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

Zagitova vs Medvedev: كيف يبدو المتزلجين في الحياة اليومية

لقد اعتدنا على رؤيتهم في الصور التي تم تصميمها بأدق التفاصيل. ما الذي يخفي وراء مستحضرات التجميل والبدلات الجميلة؟

الذهاب إلى المستوى الدولي والقتال من أجل جذب انتباه المدرب

التقى بلوشينكو وياغودين لأول مرة في موسم 1995/1996 في بطولة العالم للشباب في استراليا. ثم فاز أليكسي ، وحل يوجين في المركز السادس. كشخص بالغ ، تذكر Yagudin النصر دون الكثير من الحماس ، على الرغم من أنه ربح 10 آلاف دولار مقابل الذهب ، وكان Plushenko أقل بعشر مرات تقريبًا - 1.5 ألف دولار.

Alexey حاول ميشين تربية الأجنحة من أجل بدايات مختلفة ، ولم يلتقوا إلا في مرحلة سباق الجائزة الكبرى في سانت بطرسبرغ (حيث ، بالمناسبة ، خسر بلوشينكو أمام زميله في الفريق). بدأت مشكلة جديدة في النضوج: غالبًا ما كان Yagudin ، بسبب طبيعته المندفعة ، يفقد أعصابه. الآن كان يشعر بالغيرة من المدرب لأورمانوف ذي الخبرة ، والذي دخل معه في نفس المنافسة ، وبطبيعة الحال ، تبين أنه أضعف. بدا أليكسي أن كل شيء تم إعداده عن قصد: أثناء تزلجه في ظل البطل الأولمبي ، أصبح بلوشينكو المفضل لدى المرشد.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

أليكسي ياغودين و Evgeny Plushenko

الصورة: من أرشيف Evgeni Plushenko الشخصي

من السخرية أن يفجيني رأى الموقف من منظور معاكس. في رأيه ، كان أليكسي هو المفضل لدى ميشين. بعد كل شيء ، حصل على أفضل البرامج والموسيقى والأزياء وأعطي المزيد من الوقت. كان بلوشينكو نفسه يجمع الباقي.

كان موسم 1997/1998 هو الأخير للمتزلجين ، عندما تزلجوا في نفس المجموعة. خلال هذا الوقت ، فاز أليكسي على إيفجيني في خمس بطولات ، وفاز ببطولة أوروبا في ميلانو وتأهل للألعاب في ناغانو. لكن يبدو أن كل المزايا قد تراجعت إلى الخلفية ، وكان ميشين ، في الواقع ، مشبعًا ببلوشينكو المتواضع والدقيق. كتب المتزلج عن هذا في سيرته الذاتية عرض آخر:

على خلفية عدم انضباطه ، نما الصراع. في بطولة أوروبا في ميلانو ، اتخذ المدرب إجراءات متطرفة: فقد منع ياغودين من التواصل مع المتزلجين الآخرين ، وأخذ وحدة التحكم في اللعبة وتحكم في الوقت الذي عاد فيه الرياضي إلى غرفة الفندق. لكن هذا أبعد ما يكون عن أسوأ شيء. تم الوصول إلى نقطة الغليان في أولمبياد 1998.

نقطة تحول: الألعاب في ناغانو والمغادرة إلى تاراسوفا

في الألعاب ، احتل أليكسي المركز الخامس ، وفازت إيليا كوليك ، طالبة تاتيانا تاراسوفا ، بالمسابقة ... مثل هذه النتيجة - أو بالأحرى ، إنها سخيفةالسبب - أصبح خيبة الأمل الرئيسية لميشين. أصيب Yagudin بنزلة برد عندما كان جالسًا تحت المكيف بعد برنامج قصير ، ذهب إلى مريض تعسفيًا وفشل فيه. في سيرته الذاتية ناروم ، تذكر البداية الهجومية:

بعد الألعاب الأولمبية غير الناجحة ، لم يخف المتزلج ولا المدرب أن علاقتهما قد وصلت إلى طريق مسدود. عندما اقترح الاتحاد الروسي للتزلج على الجليد إرسال بلوشينكو إلى بطولة العالم المقبلة متجاوزًا ياغودين ، لم يوافق الجميع تقريبًا على هذا القرار - باستثناء ميشين. ومع ذلك ، نجح أليكسي في الوصول إلى بطولة العالم ، وحصل على الميدالية الذهبية ، ثم قرر المغادرة.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

Alexey Yagudin في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية في ناغانو

صورة: Jamie Squire / Allsport

في غير موسمها ، أصبح معروفًا أن إيليا كوليك كان يغادر تاتيانا تاراسوفا. قررت Yagudin عدم تفويت الفرصة واتصلت بها شخصيًا ، طالباً قبولها في المجموعة. بعد الانتقال ، تم تهديد المتزلج بأنه من الآن فصاعدًا لن يفوز ببداية واحدة. في البداية ، بدا أن الأمنيات الرهيبة ستتحقق.

بداية تفوق Plushenko على Yagudin

وفقًا لبلوشينكو ، لم يكن يتوقع أن يغادر Yagudin ميشين ، لكنه كان سعيدًا بهذه النتيجة. منذ ذلك الحين ، أصبح يفجيني المتزلج الفني الرئيسي في المجموعة وفي عام 1999 حقق أول انتصار له على زميله الأكبر سنًا. حدث هذا في البطولة الروسية - وهي مسابقة تم تقديمها لاحقًا إلى Plushenko تسع مرات أخرى ، وليس مرة واحدة إلى Yagudin. يشتبه أليكسي في أن التحكيم لم يكن عادلاً وشفافًا بسبب العلاقات الودية بين المرشد السابق ورئيس الاتحاد.

لقد مرت فترة صعبة في مسيرة Yagudin المهنية: نشأ Plushenko وكان يهزم منافسًا لمدة ثلاث سنوات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بدأ المفصل في الفخذ يؤلم. أزعج هذا المدرب الجديد أليكسي تاتيانا تاراسوفا. قامت بدورها بتغيير تكتيكات اللعبة: الآن لم يكن التركيز في برامج Yagudin على الكواد المختومة ، ولكن على الكاريزما والتمثيل. لتهدئة الطابع الجامح للجناح ، لجأ تاراسوفا إلى مساعدة عالم النفس رودولف زاجينوف. كانت هناك شائعات غريبة حول عمله أنه يمكن أن ينحس أو ينوم خصوم المتزلج.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

بدلة يتغير لونها. كيف تبدو أجمل أزياء المتزلجين؟

تستحق الفساتين اللامعة وزنها بالذهب والصور التي لا تنسى ومن يصنعونها.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

علم محايد. من ولماذا أجرى تحت الرموز الأولمبية

علقت WADA روسيا من البطولات الكبرى لمدة أربع سنوات. وليست هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يُحرم فيها الرياضيون من سماتهم الوطنية.

المعركة الأخيرة: أولمبياد 2002

ونفذ الرهان. بالطبع ، بعد العديد من الهزائم ، لم يكن ياجودين موعودًا بالفوز في الأولمبياد وكان يعتبر المفضل لدى بلوشينكو. بالنسبة ليوجين ، أصبحت ألعاب مدينة سولت ليكصعب: هو ، الفتى الذهبي لتزلج الرجال الروس ، كان سيفوز.

سقط بلوشينكو في أول قفزة في البرنامج القصير - معطف من جلد الغنم الرباعي ، والذي ، حسب كلماته ، كان يعرفه كأبينا. في مرحلة ما ، برر الرياضي الفشل بتدخل ذلك الزاجانوف نفسه ، الذي زُعم أنه قام بتنويمه. بعد الأداء الأول ، احتل المتزلج المركز الرابع: كان من الواضح أنه لا توجد طريقة للوصول إلى المركز الأول.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

Evgeni Plushenko في دورة الألعاب الأولمبية في السلط- ليك سيتي

الصورة: ماثيو ستوكمان / جيتي إيماجيس

في الوقت نفسه ، صرخ ياغودين بفرح وقفز على فشل أحد المنافسين. أدرك أنه سيخطف اللقب الأولمبي. وهذا ما حدث. قدم أليكسي ببراعة برنامج الشتاء الذي شاهده الجمهور عشرات المرات في التسجيل وبعد الألعاب.

قام كلا المتزلجين بأداء عروضهم المجانية بشكل جيد ، لكن الفجوة كانت واضحة. كانت استئجار Yagudin مؤثرة للغاية لدرجة أنه عندما اقترب من الجانب ، ركع أمام المدرب ، الذي قاده إلى النصر المنشود. وصرخت له تاتيانا أناتوليفنا: شكرا لك عزيزي شكرا لك! لم أكن أعرف حتى أنه يمكنك فعل ذلك!.

التقاعد: سيناريو واحد بفارق 12 عامًا

بعد فوزه في الأولمبياد ، فاز ياغودين ببطولة العالم في اليابان ، ثم في في وقت مبكر من الموسم المقبل ، ذهب إلى سكيت أمريكا. لكنه لم يستطع الأداء هناك. قبل تنفيذ البرنامج مباشرة ، توجه إلى القضاة واعترف بأنه لن يكون قادرًا على التزلج بسبب التهاب المفاصل. قصة مألوفة ، أليس كذلك؟ في الوقت نفسه ، أنهى أليكسي مسيرته ، واضطر إلى إدخال طرف اصطناعي من التيتانيوم في ساقه.

واصل بلوشينكو إسعاد المدرب والجمهور وفي عام 2006 حقق حلمًا قديمًا: فاز بدورة الألعاب الأولمبية في تورين. قال ياغودين إنه في الوقت نفسه أرسل إلى زميله رسالة نصية قصيرة تهنئة ، لكنه لم يتلق ردًا.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

Evgeni Plushenko في حفل توزيع الجوائز في الأولمبياد في تورين

الصورة: Elsa / Getty Images

إذا تحدثنا عن الألعاب ، ففي عام 2010 أصبح Plushenko هو الثاني في فانكوفر وفي 2014 حصل مرة أخرى على الميدالية الذهبية في مسابقة الفريق. لكن في التزلج الفردي لم يتمكن من إظهار نفسه: تمامًا مثل أليكسي ، انسحب من المنافسة قبل دقائق قليلة من التأجير ، وهو ما لا يمكن أن ينساه المشجعون. بعد كل شيء ، بسبب Evgeny ، بقي الأبطال المحتملين الشباب جانبًا: مكسيم كوفتون وسيرجي فورونوف.

عندما تلاشى الحماس: تم اختراع كراهية المتزلجين؟

مرت سنوات عديدة منذ الصراع بين بلوشينكو وياغودين. أنهى كلا المتزلجين مسيرتهما المهنية ، وشاركا في عروض الجليد ، وكتبوا سير ذاتية ذكرا فيها بعضهما البعض عدة مرات ، وذهبا طريقهما المنفصل. يحاولون الآن التحدث بضبط النفس حول المواجهة الماضية ، بل إن ياغودين قال إن الصحافة تضخمت نزاعهم.

قد يكون هناك الكثير مما يقال الآن ، مبالغ فيه. لكن الحقيقة حقيقة: هؤلاء الرجال لم يتعبوا من الدوس على كعبي بعضهم البعض ولم يقبلوا بعضهم البعض بسبب شخصيات مختلفة تمامًا. والشيء الرئيسي هو أن غضبهم الرياضي أعطانا الكثير من الانتصارات اللامعة.

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

الجليد والموسيقى من الأفلام. عروض مشرقة في التزلج الفردي للسيدات

Zagitova في صورة القاتلة لارا كروفت ، وليبنيتسكايا - فتاة في معطف أحمر من سبيلبرغ. ماذا فاجأ المتزلجون الجمهور أيضًا؟

ياغودين وبلوشينكو: الأبطال الذين كرهوا بعضهم البعض

الحياة بعد الجليد. ماذا يفعل المتزلجون الرقميون الذين أنهوا مسيرتهم المهنية

سوتنيكوفا وليبنيتسكايا وزاجيتوفا ، الذين أخذوا استراحة. أين ذهب أولئك الذين تركوا الجليد الكبير في سن مبكرة؟

المنشور السابق انخفض أداء شاكيرا وجيه لو في تاريخ Super Bowl
القادم بوست عمل لويس بو: ناشط بيئي أبحر في مياه القارة القطبية الجنوبية لإنقاذ الكوكب

Alexei Yagudin & Evgeny Plushenko 2001 GPF Rivalry Fluff Piece

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Currently, men's single skating in Russia is going through a crisis. Is that the recent victory of Dmitry Aliev at the European Championship in Graz, Austria, gives hope to the fans. Otherwise, all attention has long been riveted on the girls: a serious, albeit friendly, struggle for the podium in Eteri Tutberidze's group stirs up interest in rentals.

At the end of the 20th century and the beginning of the 2000s, everything turned out the other way around. Women were not so lucky at major competitions, but two pupils of Alexei Mishin - Alexey Yagudin and Evgeny Plushenko - were ready to go over each other's heads to pick up gold at the next start. And they did it - in turn and, of course, with mutual dislike. We tell the story of the confrontation between two titled figure skaters of the past, whose fates were so symbolically intertwined in childhood and had much in common until the end of their careers.

Meeting in Yubileiny: how did the skaters come under the leadership of Alexei Mishin?

Yagudin started skating at the age of four in his native Leningrad, his mother took him to work. Little Lyosha's mentor was Alexander Mayorov - a student of Alexei Mishin. The young skater skated under the guidance of the first coach for eight years. When the novice athlete turned 12, Mayorov was invited to work in Sweden. Yagudin's parents did not let him go abroad after the mentor and, on the recommendation of the coach, transferred the boy to Mishin's group at the Yubileiny Sports Palace.

Plushenko ended up there two years later. Before that, he trained in Volgograd under the guidance of Tatyana Skala and Mikhail Makoveev. It is interesting that Eugene also came to figure skating at the age of four and at the insistence of his mother. At the age of 11, he was forced to move to St. Petersburg alone to continue studying, since the Volgograd sports school was closed.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Alexey Mishin and Evgeny Plushenko

Photo: From the personal archive of Evgeni Plushenko

Then no one could have thought that two sickly looking boys would become the main competitors in the men's skating. So far, they have been peacefully performing elements on the ice, bullying each other in the locker room, and Mishin's attention was focused on the older wards - Olympic champion Alexei Urmanov, Ruslan Novoseltsev and Oleg Taturov.

Boy's showdown: Yagudin was locked in locker, and Plushenko was driven home

11-year-old Zhenya and 13-year-old Lyosha were the youngest in Mishin's group. Before Plushenko's transition to Yubileiny, Yagudin was the main target for bullying. Later, he said that the case did not end with words: older guys could beat younger ones with blade covers. And once the teammates locked Alexei in a cramped locker in the dressing room and kept him there for about an hour.

Unfortunately, Evgeny did not escape insults either. Most often he was reproached forthe fact that he is a visitor. Go to your Volgograd! - a phrase that Plushenko heard constantly, and most often from Yagudin. Apparently, Alexei managed to accumulate anger, and now he also decided to recoup the junior.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

The loudest scandal in figure skating. Tony Harding's story

How one of the most promising US skaters buried her career in one day.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Zagitova vs Medvedev: how skaters look like in everyday life

We are used to seeing them in images that are worked out to the smallest detail. What is hidden behind cosmetics and beautiful suits?

Going to the international level and fighting for the coach's attention

Plushenko and Yagudin met for the first time in the 1995/1996 season at the World Youth Championship in Australia. Then Alexei won, and Eugene finished sixth. As an adult, Yagudin recalled the victory without much enthusiasm, even though he earned $ 10 thousand for gold, and Plushenko was almost ten times less - $ 1.5 thousand.

Alexey Mishin tried to breed the wards for different starts, and they met only at the Grand Prix stage in St. Petersburg (where, by the way, Plushenko lost to his teammate). A new problem began to mature: Yagudin, due to his impulsive nature, often lost his temper. Now he was jealous of the coach for the experienced Urmanov, with whom he went to the same competitions and, naturally, turned out to be weaker. It seemed to Alexei that everything was set up on purpose: while he was skating in the shadow of the Olympic champion, Plushenko became the mentor's favorite.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Alexey Yagudin and Evgeny Plushenko

Photo: From Evgeni Plushenko's personal archive

It is ironic that Evgeny saw the situation from the opposite perspective. In his opinion, Alexey was Mishin's favorite. After all, he got the best programs, music, costumes and was given more time. Plushenko himself collected the rest.

The 1997/1998 season was the last for two skaters, when they skated in the same group. During this time, Alexey beat Evgeny in five tournaments, won the European Championship in Milan and qualified for the Games in Nagano. But all the merits seemed to be relegated to the background, and Mishin was really imbued with the modest and punctual Plushenko. The skater wrote about this in his autobiography Another show:

Against the background of his indiscipline, the conflict grew. At the European Championships in Milan, the coach went to extreme measures: he forbade Yagudin to communicate with other skaters, took away the game console and controlled the time at which the athlete returned to the hotel room. But this is far from the worst thing. The boiling point was reached at the 1998 Olympics.

A turning point: Games in Nagano and leaving for Tarasova

At the Games, Alexey was fifth, and Ilya Kulik, a student of Tatiana Tarasova, won the competition ... Such a result - or rather, its ridiculousthe reason - became the main disappointment for Mishin. Yagudin caught a cold when he was sitting under the air conditioner after a short program, he went to an arbitrary one sick and failed it. In his autobiography Narom, he recalled an offensive start:

After the unsuccessful Olympics, neither the skater nor the coach concealed that their relationship had reached an impasse. When the Russian Figure Skating Federation proposed sending Plushenko to the upcoming world championship bypassing Yagudin, almost everyone disagreed with this decision - except Mishin. Alexey nevertheless broke through to the world championship, took gold, and then decided to leave.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Alexey Yagudin at the Olympics in Nagano

Photo: Jamie Squire / Allsport

In the offseason, it became known that Ilya Kulik was leaving Tatyana Tarasova. Yagudin decided not to miss the opportunity and called her personally, asking to be accepted into the group. After the transition, the skater was threatened that from now on he would not win a single start. At first, it seemed that dire wishes would come true.

The beginning of Plushenko's superiority over Yagudin

According to Plushenko, he did not expect Yagudin to leave Mishin, but was delighted with this outcome. Since then, Evgeny has become the main skater in the group and in 1999 won his first victory over his older colleague. This happened at the Russian Championship - a competition that was subsequently submitted to Plushenko nine more times, and not once to Yagudin. Alexey suspected that the refereeing was not so fair and transparent due to the friendly ties of the former mentor with the head of the federation.

A difficult period has come in Yagudin's career: Plushenko has grown up and has been beating a competitor for three years. In addition, the joint in the hip began to hurt. This upset the new coach Alexei Tatiana Tarasova. She, in turn, changed the tactics of the game: now the emphasis in Yagudin's programs was not on stamped quads, but on charisma and acting. To pacify the unbridled character of the ward, Tarasova resorted to the help of psychologist Rudolf Zagainov. There were strange rumors around his work that he could jinx or hypnotize opponents of the skater.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

A suit that changes color. What do the most beautiful skater outfits look like?

Shiny dresses are worth their weight in gold, memorable images and those who create them.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Neutral flag. Who and why performed under the Olympic symbols

WADA suspended Russia from major tournaments for four years. And this is not the first time that athletes have been deprived of their national attributes.

The last fight: the 2002 Olympics

And the bet played out. Of course, after so many defeats, Yagudin was not promised victory at the Olympics and was considered Plushenko's favorite. For Eugene, the Salt Lake City Games have becometough: he, the golden boy of Russian men's skating, went to win.

Plushenko fell on the first jump in the short program - a quadruple sheepskin coat, which, in his words, he knew as our Father. At some point, the athlete justified the failure by the intervention of the very Zagainov, who allegedly hypnotized him. After the first performance, the skater took the fourth position: it was clear that it was impossible to get to the first one.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Evgeni Plushenko at the Olympics in Salt- Lake City

Photo: Matthew Stockman / Getty Images

At the same time, Yagudin shouted joyfully and jumped at the failure of a competitor. He realized that he would snatch the Olympic title. And so it happened. Alexey brilliantly performed the program Winter, which the audience watched dozens of times in the recording and after the Games.

Both skaters performed their free performances well, but the gap was obvious. Yagudin's rental was so effective that, approaching the side, he knelt in front of the coach, who led him to the desired victory. And Tatyana Anatolyevna shouted to him: Thank you, dear, thank you! I didn't even know you could do that!

Retirement: one scenario 12 years apart

After winning the Olympics, Yagudin won the World Championship in Japan, and then, in early next season, went to Skate America. But he could not perform there. Right before the execution of the program, he drove up to the judges and admitted that he would not be able to skate due to a sore joint. A familiar story, right? At the same time, Alexei ended his career, and a titanium prosthesis had to be inserted into his leg.

Plushenko continued to delight the coach and the audience and in 2006 fulfilled an old dream: he won the Olympics in Turin. Yagudin said that at the same time he sent his colleague a sincere SMS with congratulations, but did not receive a response.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Evgeni Plushenko at the awards ceremony at the Olympics in Turin

Photo: Elsa / Getty Images

If we talk about the Games, then in 2010 Plushenko became the second in Vancouver, and in 2014 again took gold in the team competition. But in single skating he did not manage to show himself: just like Alexey, he withdrew from the competition a few minutes before the rental, which the fans could not forget. After all, because of Evgeny, young potential champions remained aside: Maxim Kovtun and Sergei Voronov.

When the fervor died out: the hatred of the skaters was invented?

Many years have passed since the struggle between Plushenko and Yagudin. Both figure skaters ended their careers, participated in ice shows, wrote autobiographies in which they mentioned each other many times, and went their separate ways. Now they are trying to speak with restraint about the past confrontation, and Yagudin did say that their conflict was inflated by the press.

There might be a lot that is being said now , exaggerated. But fact is fact: these guys did not get tired of stepping on each other's heels and did not accept each other due to completely different characters. And the main thing is that their sports anger has given us many bright victories.

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Ice and music from films. Bright performances in women's single skating

Zagitova in the image of the fatal Lara Croft, and Lipnitskaya - a girl in a red coat from Spielberg. How else did the skaters surprise the audience?

Yagudin and Plushenko: champions who hated each other

Life after the ice. What do figure skaters who ended their careers do

Sotnikova, Lipnitskaya and Zagitova, who took a break. Where did those who left the big ice at a young age go?

(subtitles) Yagudin, Totmyanina and Liza - Sochi, 2014

Previous Post Shakira and J.Lo's performance went down in Super Bowl history
Next Post Lewis Pugh feat: eco-activist sailed in Antarctic waters to save the planet