فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

أقيم سباق Ultra Marathon الأسترالي من 1983 إلى 1991. وحضر كل بداية رياضيين متمرسين تدربوا لأشهر من أجل تغطية مسافة 864 كم بنجاح من ملبورن إلى سيدني. كان معظم العدائين تحت سن الثلاثين. تم رعايتهم من قبل العلامات التجارية العالمية الكبرى: لقد قدموا أحذية رياضية عالية الجودة ومعدات مريحة. تخيل مفاجأة الرياضيين عندما ظهر Cliff Young البالغ من العمر 61 عامًا على مسار السباق الكبير. مرتديًا وزرة وجلوشات فوق حذائه.

من هو كليف يونغ؟

ولد كليفورد - هكذا يبدو اسم يونغ الكامل - في عام 1922 لعائلة فقيرة. قضى الصبي كل طفولته في مزرعة عائلية في ولاية فيكتوريا في جنوب شرق أستراليا. كانت مساحة العقار تزيد قليلاً عن ثمانية كيلومترات مربعة.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

الصورة: John O'Gready / Getty Images

لم يكن كليف مغرمًا بالرياضة في شبابه ولا عندما كبر. استيقظ حب الرجل المفاجئ للجري ، ويبدو أنه فات الأوان للوصول إلى ارتفاعات كبيرة في عمل جديد لنفسه. انغمس المزارع في غزو المسافات الطويلة في سن 57.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

فرانسوا بينار - الرياضي الذي جعل إفريقيا أكثر أمانًا

استخدم لعبة الركبي لتوحيد دولة تكرهه.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

كيف حطمت جدة تبلغ من العمر 71 عامًا الرقم القياسي العالمي في نصف ماراثون؟

الآن سنشجع لها في السباق في برلين.

من الجري خلف الخراف إلى الفوز بسباق الألتراماراثون الأسترالي

في عام 1982 عندما كان يونغ يبلغ من العمر 60 عامًا ، حاول أن يركض ألف ميل (حوالي 1.6 ألف كيلومتر) حول ميدان ميموريال في مدينة كولاك. أراد الرجل تحطيم الرقم القياسي العالمي ، لكنه لم يستطع. لحسن الحظ ، لم يمنعه الفشل في طريقه إلى نتائج مبهرة. بعد عام ، ذهب كليف إلى بداية الماراثون الأسترالي الخارق ليقطع المسافة من ملبورن إلى سيدني.

في يوم السباق ، أصيب الرياضيون المشهورون عالميًا بالحيرة عندما رأوا رجلاً يبلغ من العمر 61 عامًا في منطقة الرياضيين. في البداية ، اعتقد الجميع أن يونغ جاء كمتفرج. تم تبديد التخمين عندما اقترب الرجل من مكتب التسجيل للحصول على رقم المنافس. ظن بعض الشهود أن المزارع قد فقد عقله ، بينما كان آخرون قلقين للغاية بشأن صحته وسلامته. في الواقع ، في هذا العمر ، قد لا يتحمل الجسم مثل هذه الأحمال الهائلة.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

الصورة: Tony Feder / Getty Images

حصل يونج على الرقم 64 بأمان وحصل على نفس الخط مع المتسابقين الآخرين. سارع طاقم الفيلم ، الذين كانوا في البداية ، إلى مقابلة مشارك غير عادي. عندما اكتشف الصحفيون أن كليف يعتزم حقًا إجراء أولتراماراثون ، وإلى جانب ذلك ، بدون رعاة وتدريب خاص ، قالوا له بصراحة: لا يمكنك ذلك. لكن المزارع لم يتفاجأ.

عندما بدأ الماراثون ، ترك المحترفون كليف بعيدًا. شاهد المتفرجون من جميع أنحاء أستراليا الرجل ، قلقين وحتى صلوا من أجله: لو كان فقط سينتهي على قيد الحياة. علاوة على ذلك ، علم كل رياضي متمرس أن مسافة 864 كيلومترًا تستغرق حوالي خمسة أيام من السفر. للقيام بذلك ، تحتاج إلى تشغيل 18 ساعة والنوم 6 كل يوم. لم يكن المزارع على علم بخطة التشغيل هذه.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

صورة : Fairfax Media / Getty Images

في صباح اليوم التالي لبدء السباق ، علم الناس أن يونغ لم ينام وكان يجري طوال الليل. لكنه لا يزال متخلفًا عن الرياضيين الآخرين. كان كليف يلتقي بخصومه كل ليلة ، حتى في اليوم الأخير تقدم للأمام وحقق تقدمًا كبيرًا في النهاية.

فاز المزارع الأسترالي بسباق أولتراماراثون. استغرق الأمر 5 أيام و 15 ساعة و 4 دقائق للانتهاء. 10 ساعات أقل من أقرب منافس! ولدهشة الجمهور ، لم يأخذ كليف أي جوائز لنفسه. رفض الرجل مبلغ 10 آلاف دولار ووزعه على باقي المتسابقين وقسمه بالتساوي. في تلك اللحظة ، وقعت البلاد بأكملها في حب بطل قومي جديد.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

كيف فقد ألكسندر تيخونوف ذهبه في أولمبياد 1972. جاء أحد الخصوم للإنقاذ

قصة لاعب البياث والنصر المذهل لمنتخبنا الوطني.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

216 كم السباحة. حاربت سارة توماس السرطان وسبحت في القناة الإنجليزية أربع مرات

لتسجيل الرقم القياسي ، كان عليها أن تقضي 54 ساعة في الماء.

حياة يونغ بعد تحقيق الانتصار

بعد عام من فوزها بسباق التراماراثون ، تزوجت كليف البالغة من العمر 62 عامًا من فتاة تبلغ من العمر 23 عامًا تدعى ماري هاول. تم دفع تكاليف حفل زفافهما من قبل سلسلة من المتاجر التي رعت السباق الشهير. صحيح ، بعد خمس سنوات من تفكك الزواج.

في السنوات اللاحقة ، لم يتخل يونغ عن عمله المفضل. واصل الجري ، وفي فبراير 1990 شارك في أول بطولة دولية لمدة 24 ساعة في مدينة ميلتون كينز الإنجليزية. وفي تشرين الثاني (نوفمبر) قطع مسافة 648 كيلومترًا في منطقة كامبلتاون الأسترالية.

في عام 1997 ، جذب كليف اهتمام الجمهور مرة أخرى. كان ينوي أن يركض 16 ألف كيلومتر لجمع الأموال للأطفال المشردين. لسوء الحظ ، اضطر الرجل إلى مقاطعة السباق بعد 6.5 ألف كيلومتر بسبب مرض زميله في الفريق.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

صورة: توني فيدر / Getty Images

بعد ذلك ، واجه يونج مرضًا رهيبًا - السرطان. حاربها الرجل لمدة خمس سنوات. كان آخر إنجازاته في الجري رقماً قياسياً عالمياً في سباق الماراثون الذي استمر ستة أيام في عام 2000. وفي عام 2003 ، توفي كليف عن عمر يناهز 81 عامًا.

أطلق على أسلوبه الفريد في الجري اسم Young Shuffle. يعتبر موفرًا للطاقة ويستمر استخدامه من قبل عدائي ألتراماراثون الحديث. في عام 2013 ، تم إصدار فيلم وثائقي بعنوان Cliffy عن مزارع من أستراليا. ركض وباحثون عن موتشيvation ، حتى يومنا هذا ، معجب بقدرات Cliff Young. لكن في يوم من الأيام ، أراد فقط الفوز وخال من التحيز. تخيل خروفًا هاربًا أمامه وحاول اللحاق بها.

فاز المزارع بسباق الماراثون عن عمر يناهز 61 عامًا لأنه لم يكن يعلم أنه من الممكن النوم عن بعد

بوتيرة ركض. ما هي مسابقات الماراثون الكبرى وكيفية الوصول إليها

كيف تصبح عضوًا في النخبة التي تبدأ في الستة الكبار.

المنشور السابق سفيتلانا كوزنتسوفا: يحتاج الجسم إلى الرياضة ، وهذا أفضل دواء لكل شيء
القادم بوست تدرب مثل شارابوفا: 5 فصول للبطولة

That Time a 61 Year Old Farmer Won One of the World's Most Grueling Athletic Competitions

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

The Australian Ultra Marathon was held from 1983 to 1991. Each start was attended by experienced athletes who trained for months in order to successfully cover the distance of 864 km from Melbourne to Sydney. Most of the runners were under 30. They were sponsored by major international brands: they provided quality sneakers and comfortable equipment. Imagine the surprise of the athletes when the 61-year-old Cliff Young appeared on the track of a large-scale race. In overalls and with galoshes over his boots.

Who is Cliff Young?

Clifford - that's how Young's full name sounds - was born in 1922 into a poor family. The boy spent all his childhood on a family farm in Victoria, a state in southeastern Australia. The property was a little over eight square kilometers.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

Photo: John O'Gready / Getty Images

Neither in his youth, nor when he grew up, Cliff was not fond of sports. The man's sudden love for running woke up, it would seem, too late to reach great heights in a new business for himself. The farmer plunged into conquering long distances at the age of 57.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

François Pienaar - the athlete who made Africa safer

He used rugby to unite a country that hated him.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

How a 71-year-old grandmother broke the world record in half marathon?

Now we will cheer for her at the race in Berlin.

From running after the sheep to winning the Australian ultramarathon

In 1982 when Young was 60 years old, he tried to run a thousand miles (about 1.6 thousand kilometers) around Memorial Square in Colak. The man wanted to break the world record, but could not. Fortunately, failure did not stop him on his way to impressive results. A year later, Cliff went to the start of the Australian super-marathon to cover the distance from Melbourne to Sydney.

On the day of the race, world-famous athletes were perplexed when they saw a 61-year-old man in the area for athletes. At first, everyone thought Young came as a spectator. Conjecture was dispelled when the man approached the registration desk to obtain the competitor's number. Some witnesses thought that the farmer was just out of his mind, while others were seriously worried about his health and safety. Indeed, at this age, the body may not withstand such colossal loads.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

Photo: Tony Feder / Getty Images

Young safely got the 64th number and got on the same line with the other runners. The film crew, who were at the start, rushed to interview an unusual participant. When the journalists found out that Cliff really intended to run the ultramarathon, and besides, without sponsors and special training, they told him bluntly: You can't. But the farmer was not taken aback.

When the marathon started, the pros left Cliff far behind. Spectators from all over Australia watched the man, worried and even prayed for him: if only he would finish alive. Moreover, every experienced athlete knew that a distance of 864 kilometers takes about five days of travel. To do this, you need to run 18 hours and sleep 6 every day. The farmer was not aware of this running plan.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

Photo : Fairfax Media / Getty Images

The morning after the race started, people learned that Young had not slept and had been running all night. But he still lagged behind other athletes. Cliff caught up with his rivals every night, until on the last day he took the lead and finally got a significant lead.

The Australian farmer won the ultra marathon. It took him 5 days 15 hours and 4 minutes to finish. 10 hours less than the closest rival! To the surprise of the public, Cliff did not take a single prize for himself. The man refused the $ 10 thousand and distributed it to the rest of the runners, dividing it equally. At that moment, the whole country fell in love with a new national hero.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

How Alexander Tikhonov almost lost his gold at the 1972 Olympics. An opponent came to the rescue

The story of a biathlete and the incredible victory of our national team.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

216 km swim. Sarah Thomas fought cancer and swam the English Channel four times

To set the record, she had to spend 54 hours in the water.

Young's life after a running triumph

A year after winning the ultramarathon, 62-year-old Cliff married a 23-year-old girl named Mary Howell. Their wedding was paid for by a chain of stores that sponsored the iconic race. True, after five years the marriage broke up.

In subsequent years, Young did not abandon his favorite business. He continued to run and in February 1990 took part in the first international 24-hour championship in the English city of Milton Keynes. And in November he covered 648 kilometers in Australian Campbelltown.

In 1997, Cliff again attracted public attention. He intended to run 16 thousand kilometers to raise money for homeless children. Unfortunately, the man had to interrupt the race after 6.5 thousand kilometers, because his teammate fell ill.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

Photo: Tony Feder / Getty Images

After that, Young faced a terrible disease - cancer. The man fought her for five years. His most recent running achievement was a world record in a six-day marathon in 2000. And in 2003, Cliff died, he was 81.

His unique running style was named Young Shuffle. It is considered energy efficient and continues to be used by modern ultramarathon runners. In 2013, a documentary film called Cliffy was released about a farmer from Australia. Runners and mochi seekersvation, to this day, admire Cliff Young's abilities. But once upon a time he just wanted to win and was free from prejudice. He imagined a fleeing sheep in front of him and tried to catch up with her.

The farmer won the ultra marathon at age 61 because he didn't know it was possible to sleep at a distance

At a running pace. What are marathons-marathons and how to get to them

How to become a member of the elite starts of the big six.

Cliff Young Shuffle - Ultramarathon Runner - Never Give Up!

Previous Post Svetlana Kuznetsova: the body needs sport, this is the best medicine for everything
Next Post Train like Sharapova: 5 terms of the championship